Pensioner makes stunning handcrafted models

A pensioner whose hobby is creating handcrafted wooden models has had some of his work placed in the Ashford museum.

70 year-old Graham Cleaver, who drove tractors on a farm for 35 years prior to his retirement, saw an advertisement in Ashford For You magazine looking for exhibits.

Mr Cleaver crafted two models, a JCB tractor and a steam traction engine, from his garage in Homewood Road before donating the vehicles last week.

IMG_3887 (1)

Mr Cleaver created the models in his garage

He said: “When I saw the story in the magazine I thought I could create a model to donate, but ended up building two.”

“I don’t know how long it took to do but a lot of work has gone into it!”

The retiree said that he crafted the movable models using tools such as chisels and hand planes after studying similar Lego designs.

He added: “I spent 35 years sitting in a tractor cab on the farm so it was very interesting building that model.

“People ask me to create all sorts of models for them; word just gets around about what I do and it gives me a lot of enjoyment building them, and I hope visitors get that too.”

Leave a comment